Skip to website navigation Skip to article navigation Skip to content

Personal details – Executive Board

Wouter Koolmees (b. 1977), Chair and CEO - Dutch nationality

  • Member of the Executive Board since 1 November 2022

  • Focus on: communication and corporate affairs, audit, legal and board secretariat, risk & compliance, HR

  • Other positions held: chair of the temporary Energy Emergency Fund, member of the executive board and general council of VNO-NCW, chair of the supervisory board of the Anne Frank Stichting

  • Background: Economics (Utrecht University), among others

  • Career: Ministry of Finance, Member of Parliament, Minister of Social Affairs and Employment, and (second) Deputy Prime Minister.

Bert Groenewegen (b. 1964), Member of the Board - Finance, Dutch nationality

  • Focus on: finance, Abellio, IT and data, procurement, accommodation, new trains

  • Other positions held: member of the supervisory board of Coolblue, member of the supervisory board of Teslin Participaties, member of the supervisory board of the Dutch Railway Museum

  • Background: Business Economics (Tilburg University)

  • Career: Exact Software, General Atlantic Partners, PCM Uitgevers and Ziggo, among others

Tjalling Smit (b. 1977), Director of Commerce & Development, Dutch nationality

  • Focus on: strategy and innovation, network development, sustainability, commerce

  • Other positions held: member of the executive committee of Coöperatie OV Bedrijven

  • Background: Business Administration (Nyenrode) and Hotel Management School

  • Career: Transavia, Air France/KLM, among others

Anneke de Vries (b. 1964), Stations, Dutch nationality

  • Focus on: station management and operation, retail, real estate, QHSE Stations

  • Other positions held: patroness of NS Harmonie, UAF Award membership jury member, member of the supervisory board of Stichting Eye Filmmuseum

  • Background: Economic Geography and post-doc degree in Real Estate Studies (University of Amsterdam)

  • Career: ING Vastgoed Ontwikkeling, Rochdale social housing association, Bureau Architectenregister and Albert Heijn, among others

  • Owing to an accident, Anneke de Vries's availability was limited during a part of 2022. Her duties under the Articles of Association were taken over by several other Executive Board members; her other duties by Sebastiaan de Wilde.

Eelco van Asch (b. 1972), Operations, Dutch nationality

  • Focus on: operations management, service, maintenance, train modernisation, technology, QHSE in operations

  • Other positions held: -

  • Background includes: VU Amsterdam, IMD Lausanne, Stanford University

  • Career includes: KLM, Air France/KLM, Delta Lloyd

Stepped down as at 1 July 2022

In 2022 Marjan Rintel (b. 1967), of Dutch nationality, stepped down as Chair and CEO.

Add to My report
Print page